Student Scholarship Program

Deadline: September 30, 2018

CASE V offers those individuals currently enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student a unique opportunity to receive financial assistance to attend the December CASE District V Conference and the Institute for New Professionals. The CASE V Student Scholarship Program helps prepare undergraduate and graduate students for careers in institutional advancement (alumni and/or constituent relations, development, and communications).

Applicants are asked to delay registering for the conference until notified of the award selection. All applicants will be informed of a decision prior to the Early Bird registration deadline.

Selection Criteria

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must:

  • be currently enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student at a CASE member institution within District V (This award is not intended for full-time professionals who are also enrolled in graduate programs.)
  • be affiliated with some aspect of the advancement program at his/her institution (e.g., employment in one of the professional areas indicated above, or participation in a student alumni or foundation organization)
  • be interested in pursuing a career in the advancement field
  • have a sponsor who is associated with the applicable institution

Five scholarship recipients will receive:

  • complimentary registration to the CASE District V Conference in Chicago (including the Saturday Institute for New Professionals and the Grand Luncheon)
  • three nights accommodations at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers
  • a mentor assigned by career interest

Student recipients will participate in the newcomers program as well as in the full range of workshops and professional enrichment sessions, including round tables and special interest sessions. Recipients will also be able to access the vendor exhibit area and career placement center.

The total value of the scholarship is over $700. Institutions endorsing winners are asked to fund transportation and meals.


Applicants must:

  • Submit the Application by September 30, 2018.
  • Submit a statement of career objectives including a description of what you hope to learn from this conference (maximum of 500 words)
  • Submit a resume or statement of educational and work experience highlighting employment, campus or civic activities related to institutional advancement
  • Submit a letter of recommendation from sponsor
  • Submit a current electronic photograph appropriate for use in print and presentations

Apply now for the Student Scholarship Program.

All applicants will be informed of a decision in October 2018.

Past recipients

Allyson Carpenter, Purdue University
Siqi Cheng, University of Cincinnati
Drew Donaldson, Indiana University - Bloomington
Terrance Range, Michigan State University

Kendra Lutes, Ohio University
Anna Powell, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Jonathan Soderlund, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Hallie Bills, Oakland University
Jennifer Brumfield, Miami University
Daniel Callison, Northwestern University
Alexandra Lawrence, The Ohio State University
Taylor O'Brien, The Ohio State University

Sterling Keiser, Denison University
Matt Fenstermaker, Indiana University Bloomington
Sara Santiago, The Ohio State University
Marissa Blankenship, The Ohio State University
Michael Bogart, Columbia College Chicago

Matthew Campion, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Christopher Gallick, Michigan State University
Taylor Goeckner, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Kate Hamilton, Siena Heights University
Anne-Christine Tompkins, University of St. Francis

Casey Carigan, University of Wisconsin at Platteville
Anna Di Cosola, Lewis University
Lucas Garske, University of Michigan Law School
Amy Lee, University of Minnesota at Duluth
Colton Withers, Purdue University, Development Office

Anne Clements, Denison University
Erika Creswell, University of Evansville
Leslie Kreinberg, Vanderbilt University
Mark Mangia, The Ohio State University
Brandon Sheffield, Southwest Minnesota University
Maggie Wave, University of Illinois

Natalie Bussan, UW-Platteville
Drew Donahoo, Western Illinois University
Ruqayya Rehmatullah, The Ohio State University
Sarah Templeton Wilson, Ohio University

Cynthia Ahonen, Baldwin Wallace College
Andrew Bixel, Miami University
Amy Estersohn, University of Chicago
Jane Fidman, Roosevelt University

Katrina Caldwell, Bowling Green State University
Carolyn Cowen Nissen, Earlham College
Michael VanDrehle, Southwest Minnesota State
Nicole Wagstaff, Washington University in St. Louis

Marissa Grill, Ohio University
Forrest Heyman, Butler University
Katherine Kelly, Michigan State University
Lauren Koshere, The College of St. Catherine
Bridget Thomas, Lakeland College

Christianna Luy, Taylor University
Jamie Mills, Purdue University
Laura Niedert, Kent (Ohio) State University
Annie Wright, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Heather Nichelle Charboneau, Earlham College
Rachel Gonnering, St. Norbert College
Thomas Sparrenberger, Indiana University
Courtney Tarter, Northwestern College
David Wenzel, University of Cincinnati
Calvin Wysocki, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Monica Foley, Iowa College of Education
Andrea Carrier, Michigan State University
Patricia Gentry, Manchester College, Indiana
Amanda Freitag, Northwestern College, Minnesota
Jessica Novitsky, St. Norbert College, Wisconsin